First Look: 2017 Momsen VIPA TWO

In 2017, we're introducing the Bike Hub long-term test fleet. We'll be putting these bikes through their paces as we would our own bikes for an entire year, documenting the highs and lows along the way to give a more thorough and practical review of the bikes.

 

The first bike to arrive is the Momsen VIPA TWO. The delivery caused a ripple of excitement in the office. Workstations were deserted as we unboxed: ooohing, aaahing, analysing the extent of the “yellow”, weighing components, and generally ogling this shiny new race weapon.

Momsen Vipa Two 2017-6.jpg

 

Matt is our in-house Momsen VIPA expert, having ridden a 2015 VIPA XT for past two and half years, including the 2015 Absa Cape Epic. As a result, he's been handed the new 2017 VIPA TWO for the year. Anyway, enough about us, let's take a closer look at the bike.

 

The Momsen VIPA TWO features a single ring full Shimano XT drivetrain and with it, Momsen's stiffer beefier 1x specific chainstay. The component spec is bang on and the bike is ready to race with a RockShox SID fork, Stan's ZTR Crest rims, XT brakes, and Vee Tire Co.'s fast rolling Rail Tracker tyres. The VIPA's 80mm of rear travel is controlled by a Fox Float performance series shock.

 

Momsen Vipa Two 2017-1.jpg


Momsen Vipa Two 2017-4.jpg

Momsen Vipa Two 2017-5.jpg


The yellow and matte black colour scheme was initially a bit of a shock but the colours have grown on us. The bike has already been affectionately named the bumble bee. Great attention to detail is evident in the branding and colour scheme, which has been rolled out across every component on the bike. Bars, stem, seatpost and saddle all bear Momsen branding with yellow decals on a black background.

 

Momsen are proud of their African roots. This is evident on the top tube which carries their "Forged in the Untamed" tagline accompanied by a contour map of Port Elizabeth's Baaken Valley trails - the home of Momsen Bikes.

 

Matt is looking forward to releasing this bike into the wild to see how it performs over the coming year.

 

Momsen Vipa Two 2017-7.jpg

 

2017 Momsen VIPA TWO specifications:


  • SizesSmall, Medium, Large
  • FrameFull Carbon Front Triangle, Full Carbon 1x Rear Triangle, 80mm Rear Wheel Travel, Dual Waterbottle Mount Design ( for Medium and Large Size ), Integrated Toptube Box ( I.T.B )
  • ForkRockShox SID RL, 100mm Travel, ONELOC Remote Lockout, 15mm Thru-Axle Lowers
  • Rear ShockFox Float DPS, Performance Series, Firm Lockout
  • ChainwheelShimano XT M8000 32T for 11 Speed
  • Bottom BracketShimano BB-MT800 Pressfit
  • R. DerailleurShimano XT M8000 Shadow Plus for 11 Speed
  • ShifterShimano XT M8000 for 11 Speed
  • Brake LeversShimano XT M8000 Hydraulic
  • BrakesShimano XT M8000 Short Lever / SM-RT81 Centerlock Rotors / 160mm Front and Rear
  • CassetteShimano XT M8000 11-46T for 11 Speed
  • RimsStan’s ZTR Crest Mk3 Tubeless Ready, 32H
  • TiresVee Tire Co. Rail Tracker Custom Logo, 72tpi Folding Bead, 29 x 2.20 Front and Rear
  • HandlebarMomsen Oversize Flat Wide Alloy, 700mm, 6 Degree Sweep, 31.8mm Oversize
  • StemMomsen 3D Forged Oval, 31.8mm Oversize ( S – 90mm, M – 100mm, L – 100mm)
  • SeatpostMomsen Alloy, 31.6mm
  • SeatMomsen 2017 Custom, Composite Base, Chromoly Rail
  • HeadsetCustom Integrated Taper for VIPA
  • ColorsMomsen Yellow/ Matte Carbon
  • ChainShimano HG701 for 11 Speed
  • HubsetShimano XT M8000 Front 15mm Thru-Axle, FH-M8000 Rear 142 x 12mm Thru-Axle
  • SpokesStainless Butted with Alloy Nipples
  • GripsKraton Composite Lock-On
  • Advertised Weight11.85kg (Size: Large, Note: excludes pedals)
  • Retail PriceR62,500.00

 

Geometry


Momsen VIPA geometry.jpg

 




49 Comments

NicoBoshoff, Feb 03 2017 08:06

Shouldn't the top tube read: Layered and moulded in the untamed East?

NicoBoshoff, Feb 03 2017 08:07

Or "Designed in a studio on a Mac.In the untamed Africa."

GiarC, Feb 03 2017 09:04

If you are paying R62k for a mtb.............they can at least have a remote lockout on the rear shock!

Admin, Feb 03 2017 09:11

If you are paying R62k for a mtb.............they can at least have a remote lockout on the rear shock!

For me that comes down to preference.

Personally I prefer the fact that there's no remote lockout on the rear. Having it on the front makes a lot of sense for those last minute situations (when you forget). But not having a single lever for both means you can independently control the lockout on each. And a separate remote lockout for each would just mean a cluttered cockpit!


 

BaGearA, Feb 03 2017 09:25

Or "Designed in a studio on a Mac.In the untamed Africa."

You are funny Sir !

Cav', Feb 03 2017 09:39

What is the two bolts for on the top tube?

TheJ, Feb 03 2017 09:54

One of those screw on food/spares boxes they have on the Momsen site.

TheJ, Feb 03 2017 09:55

Just wish they'd stop with the cheezy catch-phrases on their bikes.

 

ccs-62657-0-08990800-1486043663.jpg

Nick, Feb 03 2017 10:34

What is the two bolts for on the top tube?

 

One of those screw on food/spares boxes they have on the Momsen site.

 

Yeah. Momsen call it an Integrated Toptube Box:

 

Momsen Box.jpg

Momsen Box 2.jpg

blackwing, Feb 03 2017 10:52

Still fugly, and stupid. Buy a Pyga 110 or Banshee Phantom, Specialized Camber and you will have a bike that can climb as well, and rape the Vipa on the downhills.

 

Pointless bike.. don't waste your money here on a Momsen

AdrianDJ, Feb 03 2017 11:04

Still fugly, and stupid. Buy a Pyga 110 or Banshee Phantom, Specialized Camber and you will have a bike that can climb as well, and rape the Vipa on the downhills.

 

Pointless bike.. don't waste your money here on a Momsen

you forgot to add "in my opinion" 

 

In my opinion you cannot even come close to comparing a pyga 110 and a banshee phantom. maybe an epic

Clinton H, Feb 03 2017 11:05

Somehow they always mange to make their bike look cheap , I'm sure it rides a little better than it looks .

AdrianDJ, Feb 03 2017 11:05

If you are paying R62k for a mtb.............they can at least have a remote lockout on the rear shock!

My Rocky mountain came with a rear remote lock out, i actually want to convert it to non remote ctd! hat the clutter on the handle bar

Headshot, Feb 03 2017 11:13

Such hate at Momsen?? I like the look of the Vipa and spec seems okay. Price is of course ridiculous, but then the competition mentioned is the same. How much is a Stage or Camber or Epic?

fanievb, Feb 03 2017 11:23

Shouldn't the top tube read: Layered and moulded in the untamed East?

 

https://www.alibaba....bike-frame.html  :clap:  :clap:

blackwing, Feb 03 2017 11:33

Alright, in my opinion then, but just because something is from South Africa doesn't mean it should look like a cheap and nasty China Carbon copy.

 

South Africa produced some great industrial designers, Keith Helfet, Gordan Murray, Pierre Terblanche and Oona Scheepers just to name a few.

 

I am sure if Momsen put up a forum where designs could be submitted by local industrial designers, some really special designs would filter through.

mudda, Feb 03 2017 12:19

The two tone color is not great ...

 

It would be a looker if the entire frame and chain stays  were "black" ..

 

with the other "bits" yellow as is ...

jcza, Feb 03 2017 12:54

I had the Vipa Team Issue and it was a great bike, really enjoyed it. Sadly it was stolen and I bought the Scalpel 3 for R65k. So far I prefer the Scalpel.

Shebeen, Feb 03 2017 01:11

I sat behind Admin on the N2 on my way back from 24hr oak valley. This rig was on his bike rack.

 

Admin drives like a granny.

So did I for at least 10kms.

That is one looker

Sitting slip, Feb 03 2017 01:28

show me a brand that does not come from china land...

anyway way to much hate for local brand here. looks like the speznaz and cannondonkie guys like to spend a lot of money on a lot of BS marketing hype.

 

anyway awesome bikes awesome okes and for a young brand like they are i am sure a lot of great bikes will come from them. 

love to see price comparison on this bikes specs vs the rest.

Gerhard Gous, Feb 03 2017 02:00

I like it

'Dale, Feb 03 2017 02:04

What I like about Momsen is their ability to improve and innovate

Looking forward to the reviews

HOEKVLAG, Feb 03 2017 02:13

I have the 2014 VIPA and really enjoy it - great all-round bike IMHO.

 

I also like the fact that they seem to be supporting/sponsoring a number of local athletes/teams.

Odinson, Feb 03 2017 03:16

Have there been any changes to the VIPA frame since 2013/2014, when it was introduced?

Dieter ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°), Feb 03 2017 03:47

If you are paying R62k for a mtb.............they can at least have a remote lockout on the rear shock!

Yeah I wouldn't want that... but the rim decals on the other hand! Stans have a yellow option :D