Tech

Rookie Review: Pyga OneTen29 – Could she be the one?

· By BikeHubCoreAdmin · 15 comments

Let me preface this article by saying that I am not a pro, or an expert. I do not know the technical details or have any inside scoops. Also, I am not sponsored by, or affiliated to PYGA in any way, and I’m not getting paid to write this review. I do, however, love riding and enjoy writing, and this is merely an average guy’s opinion and experience with the Pyga 110 29er.

ccs-62657-0-22482800-1443538390.jpg

Every rider, in an ideal world, needs at LEAST two mountain bikes; a racey bike and a fun bike. Now, how fun and how racey each bike is depends on the individual, where you live, which brands have brainwashed you etc etc. There are a million different options on the scale from super light racey twitchy bikes, to gnarl monster heavy downhill bikes. If, however, you are like me and can afford only one bike at a time, is there a bike that can fit the do-it-all role for our South African conditions?

ccs-62657-0-27543400-1443538388.jpg
ccs-62657-0-59706300-1443538388.jpg

It all began when I was invited to ride the Isuzu Trucks PE Plett race as part of team bikehub.co.za, a real honour. I took my bike in for a fork service about ten days before departure which revealed major issues and ended up costing me an arm and a stanchion, and the bike would not be ready in time for the race. I made a call to SJ at Revolution Cycles and he organised me a demo Pyga. Rad! Now, my bike is a hardtail 29er race machine, lightweight and upright, with as little travel as you can respectably ride on a mountain bike. It’s a great bike for its purpose, competing in XC races (I won one, once).