3x10 to 1x10 Merida Big Nine HT conversion on a budget

gemmerbal

So I’ve been riding my Merida for a couple of years now, Big Nine. Cassette needed replacing so i decided to try a budget 1x10 conversion as money is tight and i cant afford what i’d really like (any of the 96 DS models). I noticed my xt deore derrailleur was also shot once i started with the build, so that had to be replaced as well.

Sunrace 11-46 10spd cassette from Evobikes = R795

Rapide derrailleur extender = R189

XT Deore derrailleur from Bike Addict = R595

Kmc chain from Evobikes = R400

Rapide 34 oval chainring = R595

SLX hollowtech crank from a fellow hubber and my riding partner (thanks TDFN aka DickieDQ!) =R0

Total = R2574

All in all it goes pretty awesome. Yet to test the limit of my pedaling power with the new granny ratio, but on paper it should just be ok. We will see at the K2C.

99fbdef2ceff3a717d3d5871e6d1e32e.jpg3e99dc3d1fd4ee31482ee3f21f9f3585.jpg9eb1696e76a8a8584a3d0f2564434758.jpg79ac016f28bf53e43ea65fce1e0f77dc.jpg

Edited by gemmerbal

• 2 weeks later...

I've also changed mine from 3x10 to 1x10 and I really enjoy the simplicity about it. Works well, less to think about when changing gears.

But of my whole bike, it's only the frame, seatpost and brakes that is still original. I've swopped/changed out everything else.

I put the new 32T chainring and 11-46 cassette on last night and hit a 40km ride this morning...
Works fine....I did use one of those Rapide RD extension pieces and didn't really have any issues setting up other than a bit of slippage on the big ring when going up a fair climb this morning...just played with the barrel adjuster a bit on the ride and all seems fine...touch wood!

I was hoping the 46T would make climbing a bit easier from the 36T I had but to be honest I suppose nothing short of a motor makes hills easier....! Feels the same.... It was a help going slow over rocks and messing about though.

Merida big 9 10 Speed