CO2 Bombs dry up sealant

Nic0000

I also disputed the fact the CO2 bombs damage, dry up, or otherwise render sealants useless, but over time I've realised that this is indeed the case. Apparently (I'm no chemical engineer) its to do with the "boiling" of the CO2 as it changes from a liquid to solid state as its ejected from the cartridge, which causes a massive temperature drop and this affects the sealant. Could someone who actually is a chem eng either verify or dispute this?

On another greener note: Some time ago I found, and kept a copy of, this letter addressed by someone to Leonard Zinn on his website:

Dear Lennard,

I’m amazed in the continuing discussion of CO2 canisters that I haven’t seen anybody bring up the environmental costs of canning air, transporting it and then tossing a hunk of metal that will never be recycled into the landfills, or the side of the road in the case of the particularly ignorant cyclist.

Think about it: you take air, which is free and all around us, and use electricity to pump it into metal containers, which had to be mined, smelted, formed, etc. Then you take these canisters and place them in a cardboard box made from trees and you put it in a shipping container and transport it across the ocean where it is unloaded and placed onto diesel trucks to be driven across the country to your bike store.

But it’s not even good air: it’s air that leaks out of your tires even faster. You are surrounded by air, free air, better air. All it takes is a pump and a few minutes of work to get it into your tire, where it holds longer than the CO2.

Cycling, as we all know, holds such a great promise for the environment. CO2 is a dark blot on that green sheen. We all know what the C in CO2 is.