Cycling shoe

abcdefg

Hi Guys,

I'm new to Mountain biking so not keen to got for kleets just yet. I have normal flat pedals and need a decent shoe. Tried by running shoe but it got destroyed with the mud. What do you guys suggest? I read about the five tens but they expensive and seem to need a special import.  

Also dialdbikes.co.za.... Go with the five tens. They won't disappoint. Give them a spray with scotch guard (the leather type)....

510's are apparently the best on the market. But a bit too pricey for me. I ride with Adidas AdiCourt shoes, R790 a pair, brilliant grip (i do have good pedals) and they last me about 18 months

As above 5-10's if you can, they are available locally.

Other than that search the forum for comments on the Hitec Figaro which a few guys use.

But before buying anything make sure you buy some decent flat pedals, do not use the things that are supplied on new bikes. No shoe can help with those.

I like your thinking. Having started off with cleats myself and only making a switch back to flats 10 years later to unlearn some bad habits that cleats taught me...

Learn to ride your bike properly from the start (assisted by flat pedals) will do wonders for your riding.

As someone who rides both flats and cleats, I have found this can quickly become a religious debate.... I love my flats for commuting and fun rides. They make me try all kinds of stupid stuff. I race in cleats. Does that mean I'm faster in cleats? Not at all... It's the one or two shorter technical climbs I might face where that last pull on the cleat might just get me up....

Sorry, that was a little off topic, but the pedal does choose the shoe type.

Bad habits cleats taught you?

Do elaborate.

With cleats you can jump onto a sidewalk by pulling your bike up by your feet and you can ride off a 1m high ledge and land however bad you like and you will still be on your bike afterwards.