Maximum Heart Rate and Heart Zone calculation basics

Often we see repeated questions about how to determine heart rate zones, maximum heart rate etc....

I'm no expert but I hope this thread can serve as a basic guide for those wanting to better use their heart rate monitors but are unsure how to proceed. The information provided comes from various sources and my personal experience over the years.

Maximum Heart Rate and Heart Zone basics

Important info: The information below is intended as a guide for people new to training with a heart rate monitor. There are many variations and different methods available from many different sources.

The tests discussed below are intended for people who are healthy and fit, they should not be done if you are a beginner, are ill, have been ill or injured recently. It is advisable to have the tests supervised by  a suitably qualified sports trainer /coach.

To accurately calculate heart rate training zones you need to know either your true Maximum Heart Rate (MHR) or your Lactate Threshold Heart Rate (LHR).

Formulas such as (220 – age = MHR) are an estimation only and often not accurate, the only way to determine MHR accurately is to do a physically strenuous test in the particular discipline (running, cycling, swimming, etc….). Each sporting discipline will have a different MHR, for example MHR while cycling will be lower than when running. So a MHR test is required for each discipline, don’t use your running MHR for setting up cycling HR training zones.

The MHR test protocol is very strenuous and need not be repeated regularly (if ever) if done correctly the first time. It is possible that some individuals will slow down / stop before reaching their true MHR, as a result it is best to do the test in a controlled environment with someone “supervising” and providing motivation. For cycling test purposes an indoor trainer (IDT) with adjustable resistance is ideal.