Events

[Event] MTN #1 Attakwas Extreme MTB Marathon - 121km

udxcob's Photo udxcob 12 Dec 2010

Eish SS, good luck man I need all the gears I have unless I walk up all the hills

PPWTF's Photo PPWTF 12 Dec 2010

Just booked for camping and shuttle at Chandlier game lodge. Camped there last year, 100m from the start.

Stephen thanks for posting. We're gonna book in there as well. Perfect spot. See you there

E-man's Photo E-man 13 Dec 2010

Entry for sale R 395 and shirt included! I will pay the sub fee. . .

George Nel's Photo George Nel 13 Dec 2010

E-man,you banggat!!!!!

E-man's Photo E-man 14 Dec 2010

E-man,you banggat!!!!!

haha im a poor student! price for 1 Attekwas entry = 4 PPA road events!

nathrix's Photo nathrix 14 Dec 2010

Not sure of your fitness level, but at this year's Pioneer Trek my partner and I took 10:30 for day 1 . My partner stopped quite a few times so I was waiting at Water points and in between. When we got to Mossel Bay I felt really good. No cramps. It was probably a blessing in disguise that my partner was slower (only met him at the Pioneer race briefing, he came from the States to ride), because I had no problems with the other 5 days of the Trek. My partner bailed on day 3 , but by that time I was acclimatised. My bit of advice for the Attakwas, if you're not a racing snake. Take it easy,stop at all the water points and fill all your bottles and eat as much as you can. Ride your normal pace and don't try to get up all the steep stuff, you will be pushing the bulk of it anyway.You need all the energy for the last 40 odd km's of rolling hills that don't seem to want to end. You can see Mossels in the distance , but you just don't get there.
Also, stay away from all the GU's if you can. Eat proper food at the stops and keep something like boiled baby potatoes in your Camelbak. Keep a GU for the last 10 km's as a little boost to get you over the line.

Nice, will be seeing you at the Attakwas :) I'm sure this you in the foto?