Hunting - yes or no?

leeubok

So the comments on this thread https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/178969-it-is-a-crazy-world-out-there/page-2 has prompted me to start this one. So we have 2 camps here, pro hunting and anti-hunting. There should be a third camp though, people that don't hunt themselves, but still believe hunting plays a role in conservation. Nowadays you dare not post a photo of yourself hunting on social media, for you will be attacked and hounded till the end of days. Just the other day I read the CEO of Panthera (a big cat conservation org) had to resign because someone dug up old photos of him hunting, and the greenies tore into the org. 

So a little background on myself first. I am a hunter, or at least I used to be. Now I'm too broke to hunt. BUT, I am also a conservationist working for a state conservation agency and I live on a game reserve. I have a Msc in Wildlife Management and 12 years’ experience working in conservation. So I think I'm qualified to debate this matter. I’m all for a healthy debate, so let me kick things off.

Hunting has a HUGE role to play in conservation. For example: